yoga download

Yoga, Health, and Wellness Articles + Recipes


Yoga, health, wellness, and recipes from

Chakras 101: An Overview of the 7 Energy Centers

Chakras 101: An Overview of the 7 Energy Centers

The 7 chakras are individual energy centers in your body. Each chakra holds unique physical and emotional qualities that are part of your whole being. We want each chakra to be in a state of balance, for one to experience optimal balance in these various areas of your life.

The chakras teach us that everything in our being is related. Our physical well-being is connected to our emotional health, and vice versa.

Here is a quick look at what each chakra is related to physically and emotionally, and what a state of balance looks like in each of these energy centers.

Root (Muladhara)

Your root chakra is like the foundation of a house. It is your base which everything else is built upon. It is associated with the Earth.

Your root chakra on a physical level is associated with your feet, legs, tailbone, and lower sacrum. On a mental and emotional level, this energy center is related to a sense of security, a harmonious and healthy relationship to money, and groundedness and stability.

An out of balance root chakra could result in health issues in the legs and feet, and related to mobility. Emotionally, feelings of instability, and chaotic financial life (like being overly indulgent and irresponsible or too cheap) point towards an out of balance Muladhara chakra.

A root chakra in optimal balance is embodied by a strong lower body, that moves gracefully with strength. Emotionally, a strong root center results in a steady and grounded demeanor that doesn’t get thrown off too easily and exudes groundedness as well as a healthy relationship with money.

Sacral (Svadhisthana)

Your sacral chakra, Svadhisthana, is your center of creativity, sexuality, and emotional well-being. It is associated with water.

On a physical level, your hips, pelvis, sacrum, are related to this energy center. Emotionally, this space relates to emotional health, new life, creativity, and sensuality.

If out of balance, physically, it can result in issues in the hips, lower back, and pelvic region. An off sacral center can relate to issues in either overindulging or depriving yourself of pleasure and is the energy center related to addiction if you get attached to pleasure.

An ideal sacral chakra leads to exploring your creativity, a happy sex life, and healthy ways of moving through your emotions. It also results in healthy and mobile hips, and sacrum, which helps the rest of your body stand tall and in alignment.

Solar Plexus (Manipura)

Your Solar Plexus chakra is your center of power. This is the place where you hold the confidence to bring your dreams into reality.  It is related to the element of fire.

An out of balance Manipura center could lead to either dominance (think of dictators), or not being able to stand your ground and stick up for yourself when needed. It is related to any power imbalance. Physically, it is the place of digestion, so any digestive or stomach issues are related to this area.

Healthy digestion, inner organs, and abdominals are signs of a healthy Solar Plexus. Someone with a balanced Manipura chakra lives with humble confidence and treats people compassionately while also commanding respect. 

Heart (Anahata)

Your heart chakra is the place of love and connection. It is associated with the element of air.

It is connected to your lungs, heart, and chest and upper back region. Emotionally, it is the place where we love.

If out of balance here physically, one may experience heart problems, trouble breathing, or poor posture in the upper body. Emotionally, there could be a guard up to letting love in, or a lack of discernment.

A happy heart chakra is seen as a healthy respiratory system, a healthy heart, and a proud posture. Emotionally it leads to healthy and meaningful relationships.

Throat (Visshuda)

Your throat chakra is the center of communication, where you express yourself, and truthfulness. It is associated with ether.

Physically, it is connected with your throat region. It is related to being honest and expressing yourself.

Out of balance, it can physically result in any issues with the throat or thyroid. Emotionally, it is someone dishonest, or cannot speak up or stop talking.

A healthy throat chakra in an individual can lead to a healthy sense of self-expression, ability to articulate and also listen, and ideal posture in the neck region.  

Third Eye (Ajna)

This is your center of intuition, meditation, analytical thought, and healthy brain function. It is associated with light.

Physically, it is a sharp and clear functioning mind. Emotionally, it is a sense of clarity and a healthy sense of intuition and problem-solving abilities.

If out of alignment, Ajna chakra can cause chaos in being unable to see life clearly. It can also result in issues with your brain function.

Balanced Ajna chakra is someone with a brilliant and sharp mind, who lives in a present and meditative state, and knows how to listen to their intuition.

Crown (Sahasrara)

Your crown chakra is the energy center where you connect to everything else in the universe and the things bigger than just you. There is no element associated with this center.

Physically, it helps maintain good posture. It is the antennae at the top of your head that keeps everything buoyant and lifted. It results in a healthy spiritual life and a sense of connection to the world around you.

If out of balance, one can be overly focused on results, and the material world, rather than the miracle that it is that we are all here, able to live, breathe, and experience each day on this planet with one another. 

There is a sense of lightness in someone with an activated crown. They can stand tall, not take things personally or too seriously, and keep insight into the bigger picture.

By Keith Allen

blog comments powered by Disqus