yoga download

Yoga, Health, and Wellness Articles + Recipes


Yoga, health, wellness, and recipes from

9-Day Ashtanga Yoga Immersion

9-Day Ashtanga Yoga Immersion

“Do your Practice and All is Coming”- Sri K Pattabhi Jois. 

If you love Vinyasa yoga and have wondered how it evolved, spend some time with us this week on an Ashtanga immersion and learn the foundation from which Vinyasa in the West is derived. Tap into the ancient wisdom and traditional practice of Ashtanga yoga, brought to the West by K. Pattabhi Jois, who is considered the Father of Ashtanga yoga. 

Ashtanga is a sweaty, vigorous yoga system based on the eight-limbed yoga path outlined in Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras. Jois developed the Ashtanga yoga system when he was a student of T. Krishnamacharya at the College of Maharaja in Mysore, India in the early twentieth century. Traditionally, Ashtanga is taught in the Mysore style, which means students practice in the same room, at their own pace, with individual guidance from the instructor. Kind of like you, practicing yoga at home with

Jois believed the entry point to yoga was through the physical asanas because those were more accessible and that discipline learned in this phase of practice was necessary to follow the eight-limbed path. Once the physical postures were mastered, he taught students pranayama and meditation as the next steps on the path to spiritual enlightenment. The Ashtanga yoga sequence is always the same series of postures linked with Ujjayi breath. Traditionally, the class starts with chanting and mantras, sun salutations, standing postures, and floor postures, culminating in Savasana. 

There are progressive series beginning with the Primary series and your teacher must approve your taking it to the next level. 

The eight-limbed path of Ashtanga yoga includes:  

1.    Yamas – the five moral restraints

    Ahimsa – non-violence

    Satya- truthfulness

    Asteya— non-stealing

    Brahmacharya— moderation

    Aparigraha- non-hoarding

2.    Niyamas— the five moral observances

    Saucha- purity

    Santosha- contentment

    Tapas- burning zeal in practice, perseverance

    Svadhyaya- self-study

    Isvara-pranidhana- devotion to a higher power

3.    Asana— Posture

4.    Pranayama— Mindful breathing

5.    Pratyahara— Withdrawing the mind from senses inward

6.    Dharana— Concentration

7.    Dhyana— Meditation

8.    Samadhi— Absorption and enlightenment. Union of self with object of meditation

Are you ready to go deeper? This 9-day Ashtanga yoga immersion will help you build your practice and understanding of Ashtanga day by day. If you’re inspired by the philosophy behind the practice, dig deeper into the eight-limbed path by reading or re-reading the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali.

Immerse yourself into Ashtanga right now, with the 9-Day Ashtanga Yoga Immersion!


blog comments powered by Disqus