yoga download

Yoga, Health, and Wellness Articles + Recipes


Yoga, health, wellness, and recipes from

Yoga for Your Heart!

Yoga for Your Heart!

This week is the perfect time to renew your commitment to living life with a loving, open heart, regardless of external circumstances. Yoga can help you create openings in your physical, emotional, and spiritual bodies. Everything is connected so physical activity creates emotional releases and purposeful words and mantras create physical strength. One of the most powerful mantras you can tap into is Lokah Samastah Sukhino Bhavantu.

Lokah Samastah Sukhino Bhavantu: May all beings everywhere be happy and free, and may the thoughts, words, and actions of my own life contribute in some way to that happiness and to that freedom for all.

Strengthening your heart muscle through practicing gratitude for what you do have, by offering compassion for those less fortunate than you, and by forgiving those who have harmed you will expand your capacity to love. When we operate from a place of love––from our heart––we are living at our highest vibration. It benefits our own well-being and impacts the well-being of everyone around us.  

Yoga practices that create more space in the Anahata (Heart) Chakra make space in your physical body to experience joy and love. Anahata means unstruck and represents compassion, love, joy, and happiness. Asanas (postures) like Bhujangasana (Cobra), Urdhva Dhanurasana (Wheel), and Matsyasana (Fish), all work to open the muscles surrounding the heart and enhance blood flow to the heart and the lungs. Make love your superpower! 

The Anahata Chakra symbolizes when we rise above our egos to care more for others than ourselves. Anahata is associated with a vibrant green color, the sense of touch, the element of air, and the thymus gland. If your Anahata is out of balance, you can withdraw and lose your sense of empathy for those around you. Physically, imbalances in your fourth chakra can manifest as heart disease, lung disease, and circulation issues. 

This week’s classes are designed to balance the energy of your heart, whether that’s opening it, processing grief, or cultivating more joy. Take the time to nourish your heart and practice choosing love, happiness, and positivity. You’ll feel happier and so will the world around you. We can do this together. 

Shy Sayar - Therapeutic Alignment: Camel Pose

Caitlin Rose Kenney - Happy Half Hour: Heart & Hips

Rob Loud - Full Wheel: Saying Yes from the Heart

blog comments powered by Disqus